.

Boards Of Selectmen, Finance Change 2012 Meeting Schedule

In an effort to include more participants, two boards make changes to when they meet this new year.

Both the Board of Selectmen and the Board of Finance have made changes to when they meet for the 2012 calendar year.

Board of Selectmen

In the past, the Board of Selectmen have met the first and third Wednesdays of the month at 8am and all other Wednesdays at 7pm.

That schedule is changing for 2012.

At their recent meeting, the board discussed the fact that the evening meetings draw a larger crowd - most likely due to the fact that folks at work would find it difficult to make and or stay for an 8am meeting.

"I prefer evening meetings as there is more input from residents," said Selectman Carol Walter.

After tossing around the idea of where to delete one of the 8am meetings, it was decided and approved that the third Wednesday of the month would be the 8am meeting.

The only exception to this is next week's meeting on January 4. That meeting will be held at 8am because when the 2011 calendar was officially posted last year it posted that particular meeting at 8am.  Changes to the time of the meeting would require it to be held as a special meeting.

The schedule for the Board of Selectmen for 2012 is as follows:

First Wednesday of the month: 7pm meeting (with the exception of Jan. 4)

Second Wednesday of the month: 7pm meeting

Third Wednesday of the month: 8am morning meeting

Fourth Wednesday of the month: 7pm meeting

Fifth Wednesday of the month: 7pm meeting

The Board of Selectmen meet in the at .  All are welcome to attend.  If the meeting has a "executive session," the public is asked to leave the meeting during that time.

At the start of the meeting, there is a "visitors" time for anyone to ask a question. If your matter is more involved or requires a presentation to the board, you would be well-advised to call the first selectman's office first and get on an upcoming agenda.

The board's agendas and minutes from past meetings are available on the town's website.

Board of Finance

The Board of Finance has announced a new meeting schedule for 2012, with changes that effect the meeting dates, not the times or location.

In the past, the finance board has met the third Monday of each month at 7pm at . Those meeting dates often conflicted with the Board of Education's meetings.

As of 2012, meetings of the town's finance board will be held on the second Monday of each month - same place same time (unless otherwise noted).

2012 Meeting Dates include:

Monday, January 9

Monday, February 13

Monday, March 12

Monday, April 9

Monday, May 14

Monday, June 11

Monday, July 9

Monday, August 13

Monday, September 10

Tuesday, October 9 (following the Columbus Day Monday holiday)

Tuesday, November 13 (following the Veterans Day Monday holiday)

Monday, December 10

 

The Board of Finance holds budget workshops in February. They are held at 7pm at town hall. The schedule is as follows:

Thursday, Feb. 2

Tuesday, Feb. 7

Thursday, Feb. 9

Tuesday, Feb. 14

Thursday, Feb. 16

Tuesday, Feb. 21

Thursday, Feb. 23

Saturday, Feb. 25 (at 9am)

Tuesday, Feb. 28.

All Board of Finance meetings are open to the public with the exception of any portion of the meeting advertised as "executive session."

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »