.

Patch's Poll: Do You Think CT's Employment Picture Is Improving?

The state’s unemployment rate decreased for the eighth consecutive month to 7.7 percent - do you think things are looking up? Take our poll and add your thoughts in the comments.

Last week, the state Department of Labor’s monthly “Labor Situation” report for March 2012 showed that the state’s unemployment rate decreased for the eighth consecutive month to 7.7 percent – the lowest unemployment rate in three years and half of a percentage point below the national average, according to a press release from the governor's office.

“While I’m certainly pleased that our unemployment rate continues to decline, we still have a long way to go in this growing recovery," Gov. Dannel P. Malloy said in the statement. "The fact remains that if you don’t have a job, the unemployment rate is basically 100 percent.

“State government is working to help improve this situation.  From the Small Business Express Program to the innovative incentives designed to spur new hiring, the policies we’ve enacted are beginning to pay dividends.  But we have a lot more work to do,” Malloy said.

Here is a month-by-month unemployment rate:

Month/Year Unemployment rate January 2011 9.3% February 2011 9.2% March 2011 9.1% April 2011 9.0% May 2011 8.9% June 2011 8.9% July 2011 8.9% August 2011 8.8% Sept. 2011 8.6% October 2011 8.5% Nov. 2011 8.3% Dec. 2011 8.1% January 2012 8.0% February 2012 7.8% March 2012 7.7%

Do you think the employment situation in Connecticut is improving? Take our poll and add your thoughts in the comments.

 

 

Kendall Svengalis April 25, 2012 at 01:41 PM
It is simply not worth responding to Gene as I'm sure many of you have learned. He creates his own straw men and then argues against them. He might as well be in a closet where he can better respond to the echo of his own senseless ramblings. Of course, I answered Gene's question, but he didn't bother to read it, which is why a fruitful dialogue with him is impossible. Whether a member of the SEIU or nor, Gene is of that ilk.
Rick McDonald April 25, 2012 at 01:42 PM
See Gene, you cannot even admit when someone other than your self is correct. You slammed others for insults yet it is alright for you to use insults. I never said President Bush was good or bad. I simply said he deserved the respect due the office and not to be called names, especially by someone who claims to be above that. In my opinion, which is my right as an American and veteran, you are one of those Do as I say or go home and shut up kinda people. A lot like President Obama and his followers. You have no desire to debate as you insinuate, you only wish to lecture the ignorant masses as you preceive any who disagree with you. My freedom to have my own opinion and not one given to me by the Government is one of the things that makes this a great country. People who belive that the Government should take care of everything and that we need to shut up and do as they say are one of the things that make this a horrible country. Have a wonderful day telling everyone else what they are to believe
Rick McDonald April 25, 2012 at 01:48 PM
Gene, you need to stop making unfounded accusations. You infer that I am a republican simply because I said you were like a democrat. You have no facts to base your accusation on. And I said nothing about schools or teachers so based on what are you claiming I need to wake up for?
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 01:51 PM
You avoid the fact that you are pushing StudentsFirst agenda and that firing well paid teachers is not the answer, just as Scheff vs O'Neil solved nothing.
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 01:59 PM
You are not correct. W deserves no respect at all, in fact I think he and his family should be jailed for "soiling" the Office of the President. He lost respect with most people, you don't automatically get respect just because you're President you still have to earn it. Millions of people count on our govt to do the right thing for everyone, not just conservatives, not just extremists, not just large corporations, not your dads corporations or your Uncle Dicks corporations. W & Cheney ignored this country and were fixated on Iraq because of broken business deals between dad, his buddies including Uncle Dick and Hussein, they tried to rope him in during the 80's, they sold him technology, weapons and the gas he used on the Kurds hoping to get construction and oil contracts, when dad sold weapons to Iran- Iran/Contra the deal was off and Hussein was pissed, then the Kuwait-American corp began drilling on the border of Iraq to steal his oil, so Hussein invaded Kuwait, Gulf War P 1&2 and stalemate. During Clintons Presidency Hussein attempted to assasinate dad Bush, mom and Laura while they were in Kuwait, that led to the gloves coming off and W stealing the election, dads crew as W's admin and the weapons inspectors, they were going to find a reason to invade, and they finally did, 9/11.
Kendall Svengalis April 25, 2012 at 02:04 PM
Student First was not even on my radar screen because it's largely about process, not the substantive content or methodology that is my focus. Good teachers, regardless of how well paid they are, should be valued and retained, but school systems should weed out bad or ineffective teachers. That should be obvious if one is concerned about school children and their educational success. Your silly claim that I advocate getting ridding of well-paid teachers is a fantasy of your own making. You keep insisting that I am pushing StudentFirst regardless of my statements to the contrary. This simply demonstrates your inability to read and to engage in a fruitful dialogue.
Rick McDonald April 25, 2012 at 02:07 PM
Exactly, my opinion is unaccetable. You could simple say that instead of using half a page to justify why my opinion is wrong. Opinions are simple that, opinions, neither right or wrong.
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 02:15 PM
Backpeddling? Here's one for you http://www.conncan.org/learn/reportcards/results?school=Elementary&category=field_reportcard_goal_value&submit=School more school rankings from burbs to cities, A - F, just like I said the problems are city problems, the city schools need help and unless you focus on that you are going to fail why are the city schools doing so poorly? its not because of what you say, you say a generalized conservative statement which is exactly the StudentsFirst claim and the ads on tv and the emails many Ct residents have received from same I have to conclude you are using their formula, as is Malloy. You have to go to the front lines, you have to go to the city schools and revamp them and you need to enlist the help of those teachers to do it, the management does not and will not admit they are and and have been in error. this is exactly what you have been saying http://www.studentsfirst.org/pages/state-action/connecticut you have a wonderful day you people are a trip, I'll give you that
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 02:20 PM
http://www.dailykos.com/story/2012/04/04/1080646/--Billionaire-funded-ed-reform-group-moves-into-North-Carolina-Plus-new-Rhee-Klein-group-to-NY-
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 02:26 PM
http://www.mea.org/voice/march2008/educationactiongroup.html It appears the entire agenda is to take away local control of as many schools as possible nationwide, then turn them over to corporate control, to make money, not make your kids smarter.
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 02:29 PM
sorry Rich those are not my opinions, those are historical facts a statement like "the office of the Prez deserves respect no matter what" is an opinion after Lewinsky did you feel Clinton still deserved respect? whats the difference between Monicas dress and invading Iraq, leaving Afghanistan a mess (well they have no oil) sending thousands of our kids to die so your dads co and Uncle Dicks co can make billions, and in doing so you allow the mastermind of 9/11 to waltz into Pakistan?
Elizabeth April 25, 2012 at 02:44 PM
Kendall it is obviously pointless to continue "debating" with a conspiracy theorist such as Gene. It must be nice to have all day and night to surf the internet to find websites that will prove whatever point you want to make and then to post these rambling tirades on sites such as this and God knows how many other ones. It's unfortunate that one's life is so unfulfilled that the only thing they can do is figuratively scream at people all day long who they don't know and whose opinion that they dislike. The internet is filled with so much inaccurate information and outright lies and the media does our country no better by not reporting the truth, a point which I tried to make in an earlier post. Have a good day Kendall - I do enjoy reading your posts.
Rick McDonald April 25, 2012 at 02:45 PM
Gene, please reread. I am not arguing your facts, or lack of, I am stating that you do not believe others have a right to an opinion unless it is the same as yours. I have clearly stated that my comments are an opinion. Never said my statements were fact. It is you who keeps insisting that I am stating facts and that they are not facts but opinions. It is you who has opinions that you claim are facts. You claim Bush did what he did to avenge his father, I agree, but that is not proven fact, just opinion
Kendall Svengalis April 25, 2012 at 02:45 PM
Richard, Gene wouldn't know a fact from a fig. He is a mindless ranter, bereft of facts, logic, common sense. He has mastered the art of the ad hominem, however. It is senseless even responding to him. This is the nature of the people the unions pay to blog.
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 02:52 PM
Kendall, where are your facts??, your pdf's, ratings of schools, your....uh...proof? this is typical of the right wing extreme, they have no facts so then they make stuff up, and when you hit them with several links that they suposedly could easily prove wrong they resort to the above
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 02:53 PM
Elizabeth feel free to disprove my facts anytime not with rhetoric, with facts to support what you say.
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 03:00 PM
Opinions Rich are intersting in that they are taken by some as facts, they are not. When we are is such dire straits as we are now history and where we've been and what our govt has actually been up to are paramount, not "opinion". You can not have differing opinions on fact, though some do, they will swear W was a Patriot Fit'n terossitsssss and the Axis of Evil. If you think W deserves respect then Clinton does too. We are too consumed with our opinions and it makes us incapable of seeing the truth, I only care about the truth, Truth is W, Cheney, Obama, Pelosi, Reid, Gramm, Newt, Palin, Malloy they all and more suck, both parties and they don't deserve any respect until they start respecting us. Truth is the UE rate in Ct and the nation is being manipulated to hide the fact that recovery is not happening and to cut their benefits. Truth is killing the unions and tenure and firing high paid teachers to save money is not going to help any schools, its going to make certain corporations rich.
Gene Bartholomew April 25, 2012 at 03:12 PM
I was talking about UE and the plight many people are finding themsleves in which is no hope, no job, no help, no nothing Kendall until you came along with your rant about firing teachers and spending more govt money that we don't have. That sounds more like a paid blogger, paid bloggers are mostly from the right and they go around hijacking converations into whatever they are scripted to do, pretending to be some concerned citizen or parent. I'm only concerned with the truth and fact for which I constantly post references and material to back it up which I never see from opposing sides. So how are things in the Tea Party?
BJ April 25, 2012 at 08:21 PM
GB: Give it a rest already. You have NO interest in "facts" you have an agenda. Your so called "references" are are chosen based on your agenda. The same method could be employed to "prove" anything, including the fallacy of most of your "facts."
Richard T. Froh April 25, 2012 at 11:45 PM
I have to agree with Gene here. Just got back from a trip to DC - the corporate welfare capital of the world. The bottom line regarding welfare is that Gubmint controls too much of the GDP, and we are all merely slaves of varying degrees of happiness and contentment. like many people here, I have a choice whether to work more or less, and my huge tax returns this year rewarded me for having worked a LOT less. Had I earned more, our tax bill would have been much higher. But my multiple part-time jobs probably count for three of Malloy's and Obama's "new jobs". There is a huge disincentive to start a business and employ other people. There is a huge disincentive to work in the mainstream job market. Many of us producers are on strike, and glad to not be supporting welfare for foreign countries, the permanent Gubmint slave class, or our corrupt corporate welfare system.
Richard T. Froh April 26, 2012 at 12:14 AM
Things in the TEA Party were peachy-keen until the Far Right uber-conservatives and the Christian Right hijacked the movement. In fact, there remains hope that the Occupy folk and the real TEA Party can agree that it isn't corporate power, nor Gub'mint power, but the corporate/Gub'mint alliance that has ruined us. Yes, fear-mongering and finger-pointing are being used to keep us at each other's throats and distracted from the real problem, and Gub'mint programs containing benefits for every person serve as effective pacifiers to keep us from opposing other Gub'mint programs. But ending just corporate welfare alone won't suffice. Critics of capitalism really are pointing out the failure of crony capitalism, which is practiced by both political parties. Atlas is shrugging, and this is what it looks like.
Gene Bartholomew April 26, 2012 at 12:49 PM
BJ-- then all you have to is prove it Richard-- I'm not sure if Tea was started for the people or if it was designed to try and recapture the repubs who felt betrayed by W and keep them voting repub, we may never know, I think the people who started claim it was not. Either way it has been hijacked by the extreme right, mostly by the Koch Bros who are becoming very powerful and even influence NPR and PBS by donating to them, this achieves 2 things, it helps control PBS and it makes Koch Bros look good. I beg to differ on the Corporate Welfare, even at its present rate which is staggering if you count each state and federal, Ct alone gives billions each year to a few large corporations. Many of these corporations have been rewriting our tax laws for years, fine tuning them. They are now at the point where they not only do not pay taxes because of the writeoffs they invented, we the taxpayer are giving them a rebate on top of it. So when you add the subsidies and phony corporate welfare and the fact that they do not pay taxes and that we give them a rebate on top of that you are talking trillions every year. check this out http://thinkprogress.org/economy/2011/11/03/360185/30-corporations-no-taxes/ I'll post the chart as well, we are getting royally screwed, this Quadrophenic Trickle Down
Gene Bartholomew April 26, 2012 at 12:54 PM
these companies generated so many excess tax breaks that they reported negative taxes (often receiving outright tax rebate checks from the U.S. Treasury) it should be illegal to get a rebate out of a system that you do not pay into that is killing us, that is why they want to shut down S/S and Medicare,to take more and more and some of you would not only let them, you're helping them
roy April 26, 2012 at 02:35 PM
Well, if the stats drop from 9.3% to 7.7% - which is a significant improvement then this poll is weighted by Tea Party/Republicans or idiots - Oh, the same meanings!! I got it!!!! Probably racist as well!!!!
Rick McDonald April 26, 2012 at 03:02 PM
Still unwilling to acknowledge that others have a right to their own opinion and that what you say is not an opinion but honest to god fact. If you were sure of your answer you would not need to bury it so many words.
Rick McDonald April 26, 2012 at 03:03 PM
Last should read "is an opinion and not honest to god fact"
Elizabeth April 26, 2012 at 03:30 PM
Roy what do you accomplish by throwing in the "racist" word? It's meaningless to your post and to the topic at hand. So you're just another one who dismisses people as "racist" because you don't agree with them. Do you have any idea how watered down the racist accusation has become? No one buys it anymore. It has no meaning because it is now just used as insult to someone who doesn't agree with the president's policies. You sound like a child and a fool or an idiot - take your pick. If this president was really supposed to be the first post-racial president he would have stood up from the beginning when these accusations were being thrown around by the mainstream media and others and denounced this tactic. Of course, he didn't. He's perfectly content to let himself be portrayed as the victim because of his race. No one is interested in healing the racial divide because it is not in the best interest of certain groups to promote this. Count yourself as a member of the reason for the problems in this country Roy. Calling people racist just because you think it's a way to shut down all conversation helps nothing! If you don't like to hear opposing points of view in America, there are plenty of other countries you can move to where you would feel right at home in.
Carol D. Fox April 26, 2012 at 07:50 PM
You want truth and facts. Here are truth and facts. I am age 61, laid off of a job after 35 years, found another at $200 a week less five months later. Laid off 15 months later. Unemployment isn't an income you can survive on. I was termed a 99er, but recently the last extension called EB "extended benefits" were cut from 20 weeks to 13 weeks because the unemployment dipped below 8%. Try finding a full time job at age 61. No one wants to hire you and if they offer medical insurance, you can be sure you definitely won't be hired because the premiums are so high. Discrimination against the older folks. Maybe so. I was able to find a part-time job and I am collecting unemployment part-time. No medical insurance and can't afford it. I do not take any hand outs from the State such as insurance, food stamps, etc. My expenses have not gone down, my mortgage is still the same and my taxes are in all probability going up. I have barely been able to keep up with. At this point in my life, I am waiting for my 62nd birthday so I can start collecting social security. At least with social security and a part time job my income will increase. They say unemployment has gone down. I don't believe them. I just think the federal government cannot afford to pay unemployment benefits for the long term unemployed. For those of you who don't know, it is the federal government that pays for some benefits through the State of Connecticut Department of Labor.
Howard Smith April 26, 2012 at 09:27 PM
Hang in there Carol you'll make it. You are right not to believe the UE numbers as they are being manipulated as are the inflation numbers. It's called cooking the books and in the corporate world you go to jail for it. In government service you are promoted for it
Gene Bartholomew May 01, 2012 at 01:07 PM
Carol, many of us myself included are in the same boat. I tried to get he Courant to print the truth and gave them facts to do so but they refuse, relying soly on information given to them by the govt. THAT IS NOT NEWS OR RESEARCH. ugh I pestered a State UE worker about it and this is part of the response, I will never divulge their name because I believe they will simply be fired. they said " You are right, it is bad out there. Truly awful.” Their hands are tied. What I would suggest is that you and anyone we know and/or reading this send an email to the Courant reporter who authored the article about the BS UE% and let them know we exist and that they are wrong. It is Mara Lee -- marlee@courant.com

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »